home studios equipment staff/friends booking/rates for sale forum contact

Why no API?

Got a question about our studios? Ask us.

Moderators: kerble, Electrical-Staff

Why no API?

Postby tmoneygetpaid on Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:57 pm

This is something I've wondered about for a while now: why is there no API gear at Electrical? I have heard Greg (rightfully) criticize the headroom limitations from the 500-series low-voltage power supply, but they're canonical gear at this point. A few 512c's would be nice!
tmoneygetpaid
pod
pod
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:13 pm

Re: Why no API?

Postby greg on Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:07 am

tmoneygetpaid wrote:This is something I've wondered about for a while now: why is there no API gear at Electrical? I have heard Greg (rightfully) criticize the headroom limitations from the 500-series low-voltage power supply, but they're canonical gear at this point. A few 512c's would be nice!


No big reason other than we haven't felt the need for them, generally speaking. It would be nice to have a few pre's and 550As laying around, but we haven't stumbled across ones in good shape for a reasonable price (which is how we normally get older gear). Buying them new for a $1-2k a pop seems excessive, but not impossible. Somewhere down the line we'll have something. Not in a big hurry though.
In my perfect word, a 500-like standard would have ±24v rails, 12v high current rail, 220v low current rail, and of course phantom.
User avatar
greg
Master Of The Computer
Master Of The Computer
 
Posts: 4942
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Why no API?

Postby tmoneygetpaid on Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:02 pm

Thanks for the reply, Greg. I thought maybe EA got burned by API gear somehow.

Is your thinking that your standard would allow tube preamps and processing?
tmoneygetpaid
pod
pod
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:13 pm

Re: Why no API?

Postby greg on Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:56 pm

tmoneygetpaid wrote:Thanks for the reply, Greg. I thought maybe EA got burned by API gear somehow.

Is your thinking that your standard would allow tube preamps and processing?


Pretty much everything, yeah.
User avatar
greg
Master Of The Computer
Master Of The Computer
 
Posts: 4942
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Chicago


Return to Studio Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest