home studios equipment staff/friends booking/rates for sale forum contact

The Photography Thread

Moderators: kerble, Electrical-Staff

The Photography Thread

Postby Tom on Wed May 29, 2013 10:23 am

I searched. There was a Street Photography thread, a Guerilla thread, but no F&M general photography thread. So I'm starting one.

I bought a Sony Nex3 a few months ago and am slowly learning how to take pictures. Still getting the interface down and some of the basic concepts down. Aside from a photography class in high school, I have no experience.
I've been having a lot of fun doing long exposures in the early evening - weird shadows from street lights, flowing water, that sort of thing.

I have a question regarding file formats though. I'm currently saving them as high resolution JPG, but would like to switch to RAW. I'd like to do this for two reasons: First I would prefer to have the images saved as a "lossless" format, but I would also like to learn what the computer is doing when it processes the RAW information into a usable image.
Does anyone know of a good tutorial they would recommend on image processing using RAW?
Tom
Power Incarnate with Endless Creativity

Re: The Photography Thread

Postby nihil on Wed May 29, 2013 10:32 am

This is great. I've been meaning to start a general photography thread for a while.
nihil
Best leader Who Realized Human Wisdom
Best leader Who Realized Human Wisdom

Postby Tommy on Wed May 29, 2013 12:13 pm

krs wrote:But any foray into photography should begin with learning the three legs of the stool you are about the sit on: Shutter Speed, ISO (film speed), and Aperture. This should come ahead of learning any specific processing technique. Are we there yet?