home studios equipment staff/friends booking/rates for sale forum contact

Kick Pedals

All your geeky questions about electronics, microphones, tape machines, etc.

Moderators: kerble, Electrical-Staff

Kick Pedals

Postby caix on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:41 pm

I'm new to drums and I need a kick pedal. I'm familiar with the DW3000 and the Tama Iron Cobra, but those pedals are kind of expensive. I found an Iron Cobra Jr. a DW2000 for considerably less. There sure are a bunch of brands available.

The kick drum is 24". I'm looking for something that will have a good response and won't fall apart in the near future. Something good to learn on, I suppose.
I play bass in Fake Limbs.
caix
Power Incarnate with Endless Creativity

Re: Kick Pedals

Postby scott on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:59 pm

So you're looking for a single pedal, not a double, right? Dude.
May the wings of Liberty never lose a feather
first show - last show
scott
Master of Cunnilingus
Master of Cunnilingus

Postby caix on Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:05 pm

Yeah, just a single pedal. I'm a drumming n00b. Gonna start taking lessons after March.
caix

Postby dokazaado on Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:28 pm

Iron Cobra Jr. is ok to start, but a double-chain or belt drive pedal will feel a lot smoother and will let ya get your speed up a little more quickly.

for only $50 more than the DW or IC Jr., you can get a Pearl Eliminator Powershifter, and that's a great pedal.
dokazaado
names vacuums with eyes closed

Postby caix on Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:54 pm

dokazaado wrote:Iron Cobra Jr. is ok to start, but a double-chain or belt drive pedal will feel a lot smoother and will let ya get your speed up a little more quickly.

for only $50 more than the DW or IC Jr., you can get a Pearl Eliminator Powershifter, and that's a great pedal.

What makes the double chain or belt better? more stability and/or response?
caix

Postby dokazaado on Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:04 pm

I can't speak on the belt/strap drives, I just know lots of dudes prefer 'em.